## **Preface**

These are the proceedings of the Fifth Workshop on Probabilistic Logic Programming (PLP 2018), which was held on September 1, 2018 in Ferrara, Italy. The workshop was co-located with the 28th International Conference on Inductive Logic Programming (ILP 2018).

Eight papers were submitted to the workshop. Each submission was reviewed by two or three members of the program committee. All submitted papers were of sufficiently high quality to be accepted at the workshop. In addition, the workshop also had invited talks by Riccardo Zese (University of Ferrara, Italy) and Angelika Kimmig (Cardiff University, UK).

This workshop is the fifth edition of the PLP series. The first two editions were part of ICLP conferences, the third and fourth editions were part of ILP conferences. More information about the current edition, previous editions and future editions can be found at the following website: http://stoics.org.uk/plp/.

We would like to thank all authors who submitted papers, and the (senior) program committee members for their efforts. We are especially grateful to Nicos Angelopoulos for his continued support for the workshop series.

September 2018, Ferrara, Italy

Elena Bellodi and Tom Schrijvers PLP 2018 Program Chairs

# **Organization**

### **Program Chairs**

Elena Bellodi (Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Ferrara, Italy)

Tom Schrijvers (Department of Computer Science, KU Leuven, Belgium)

### Program Committee

Krysia Broda (Imperial College, UK)

Henning Christiansen (Roskilde University, Denmark)

Giuseppe Cota (University of Ferrara, Italy)

Fabio Cozman (University of So Paulo, Brazil)

Luke Dickens (University College London, UK)

William J. Knottenbelt (Imperial College, UK)

Sriraam Natarajan (The University of Texas at Dallas, USA)

Matthias Nickles (National University of Ireland, Ireland)

Rolf Schwitter (Macquarie University, Australia)

Chung-chieh Shan (Indiana University Bloomington, USA)

Riccardo Zese (University of Ferrara, Italy)

#### Senior Committee

Nicos Angelopoulos (Sanger Institute, UK)

Vitor Santos Costa (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)

James Cussens (University of York, UK)

Arjen Hommersom (Open University, The Netherlands)

Angelika Kimmig (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Evelina Lamma (University of Ferrara, Italy)

David Poole (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Luc De Raedt (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Fabrizio Riguzzi (University of Ferrara, Italy)

Alessandra Russo (Imperial College, UK)

Joost Vennekens (KU Leuven, Belgium)